What’s New

Welcome to my “official” author’s website page. After two decades of work in the criminal justice system, I’ve witnessed the extremes of human behavior, depravity to redemption. The stories I write are influenced by firsthand encounters with gang leaders, drug traffickers, serial murderers and those who face them every day.

Prisons, jails and the tight-knit criminal operations on the street exist with a unique flavor and culture. I strive to bring a piece of that experience alive in the stories I write for you.

AT WHAT COST was released on December 13, 2016, the first of two novels published by Crooked Lane Books. AT WHAT COST features a Sacramento Police detective, John Penley on the hunt for a serial murderer harvesting organs from his kills. This crime spree becomes very personal for the detective when his own son needs a kidney transplant to survive.

BURY THE PAST Released by Crooked Lane Books on December 12, 2017, continues the pairing of detectives John Penley and Paula Newberry as they investigate a homicide where the evidence reveals their prime suspect–a man already in prison. He has the ultimate alibi. The case takes an unexpected turn for detective Newberry when a case from her past resurfaces and puts her in the killer’s crosshairs. BURY THE PAST was nominated for the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award for Best Procedural Mystery of the year.

at what cost cover

Recently, I was asked to contribute to a charity crime fiction anthology: BETRAYED: Powerful stories of kick-ass crime survivors. You can find my story, When the Music Stops, in this collection of sharp, witty, and riveting fiction published by Authors of the Air Network. You can check it out for yourself and contribute to crime survivors.

I’m a proud member of Mystery Writers of America, International Thriller Writers, International Crime Writers Association, and the International Screenwriters Association. I’m represented by Elizabeth K. Kracht, of the Kimberley Cameron & Associates Literary Agency.

Please check back often for exciting upcoming news about new releases, contests, and opportunities to get a first peek at the new work, before it hits the street.

Please feel free to contact me at crimewriter@comcast.net

Elizabeth K. Kracht may be reached at:

Kimberley Cameron & Associates, LLC
1550 Tiburon Blvd. #704
Tiburon, CA 94920